34 Eisner Winners & Nominees To Attend Chicago Comic Con

I got an interesting list today in my E-mail that I think some of you might enjoy. (Actually, I think this would include all of you since I doubt I have any sane human beings visiting my blog:)


I haven’t announced this yet on my blog so here it goes. I will be attending Chicago Wizard Con 2011. I will be attending as press and I hope to make the most excellent coverage available on the net! I have recently invested in a pretty sweet camera that will be going with me and my photographer to this event! I am polishing my boots and preparing my voice recorders. There are many people to meet and many interesting “happenings” to cover. My husband will be going with me as my photographer. The new camera is actually quite heavy. I’ve already started writing down interesting questions I hope to ask people, but since this is my first complete coverage i’d like to know what you guys think I should ask and who?

If you for some reason have been buried somewhere to miss this event, then I will gladly save your bee-hind by LINKING the site to you. Now that you know what is going on, I hope you are just as exited as I am. I will keep you guys updated on new guests signing on and whatnot news that will drop into my very filled up inbox! Till next time!


A total of 34 Will Eisner Comics Industry Awards winners (19) and nominees (15) are among the more than 400 comic creators scheduled to attend Wizard World Chicago Comic Con, part of North America’s largest pop-culture tour, August 11-14 at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center.  Headliners among the  winners include Brian Azzarello (“Flashpoint,” “Batman – Knight of Vengeance”), Gary Friedrich (“Ghost Rider,” “Sgt. Fury and his Howling Commandos”), Dave Johnson (“Deadpool,” “Punisher MAX”), Stuart Moore (“Namor: The First Mutant,” “Wolverine Noir”), Eduardo Risso (“Flashpoint,” “100 Bullets”) and Bill Sienkiewicz (“Elektra: Assassin,” “Moon Knight”).

Other winners include Franco Aureliani (“Billy Batson And The Magic Of Shazam!,” “Tiny Titans”), Art Baltazar (“Tiny Titans,” “Billy Batson and the Magic of Shazam!”), Gabriel “galvo” Bautista (“PopGun,” “Pulpo Anthology”), Ian Boothby (“Simpsons Comics,” “Futurama”), Geof Darrow (“Daredevil,” “Marvel Zombies 5”), Pia Guerra (“Y: The Last Man,” “Dr. Who: The Forgotten”) Paul Jenkins (“Spider-Man,” “Incredible Hulk”), Peter Maresca (“George Herriman’s Krazy Kat: A Celebration of Sundays,” “Little Nemo in Slumberland”), Nina Matsumoto (“Yokaiden,” “The Last Airbender Prequel: Zuko’s Story”), Andrew Pepoy (“The Adventures of Simone & Ajax,” “Fables”), Nate Powell (“Swallow Me Whole,” “Sounds of Your Name), Ken Steacy (“Spawn,” “Star Wars”) and William Stout (Paleontological Artist).

Batman FlashpointAmong the Eisner nominees scheduled to attend are Ivan Brunetti (“Schizo,” “Linework), Steve Bryant (“Athena Voltaire,” “The Canterville Ghost”), Lilli Carré (“Nine Ways to Disappear,” “The Fir Tree”), Paul Friedrich (“Onion Head Monster,” “Don’t Trust Evel Knievel”), Eliza Frye (“The Lady’s Murder,” “Lucky House”), David Mack (“Kabuki,” “Daredevil”), Laura Park (“Do Not Disturb My Waking Dream,” “Superior Showcase”), Ronda Pattison (“Star Wars: Clone Wars,” “Spike”), Humberto Ramos (“Amazing Spider-Man,” “The Spectacular Spider-Man”), Thomas Scioli (“Gødland,” “American Barbarian”), Gary Shipman (“DreamWorks,” “Pakkin’s Land”), Ben Templesmith (“Wasteland,” “Buffy”) Billy Tucci (“Sgt. Rock,” “Shi”), Ethan Van Sciver (“Green Lantern,” “Superman/Batman”), Matt Wagner (“Grendel,” “Batman”).

The creators will be on hand to meet fans, sign autographs and sketch.  Many Greater Chicago-based artists will be in attendance as well.

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards are considered the “Oscars” of the comic book industry. Established in 1987, they are named for renowned cartoonist Will Eisner (creator of “The Spirit” and several award-winning graphic novels).

Other superstar creators scheduled to attend include Carlo Barberi (“Deadpool,” “Batman”), Jim Cheung (“Avengers,” “Uncanny X-Men”), Mike Deodato Jr. (“Amazing Spider-Man,” “Wonder Woman”), Patrick Gleason (“Batman & Robin,” “Brightest Day”), Michael Golden (“Batman,” “Spider-Man”), Mike Grell (“Green Arrow,” “Green Lantern”), Greg Horn (“Spider-Man: Turn off the Dark,” “Hero For Hire”), Greg Hurwitz (“The Crime Writer,” “The Tower”), Ariel Olivetti (“Batman: Legends of the Dark Knight,” “Cable”), Damion Scott (“Deadpool,” “Batgirl”), Arthur Suydam (“Marvel Zombies,” “Army of Darkness”) and Mark Texeira (“Wolverine,” “Spider-Man”).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s